Anders Andreasen Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My life with Ubuntu 9.04: VPN and Citrix Receiver

with 2 comments

I have been using linux the last 8 years with different flavors (RedHat, Debian Gentoo, Suse). Personally I like the Debian based distros the best.
Now time has come that I wanted to install Ubuntu 9.04 on my home laptop. I have noticed all the buzz around this “relatively” new distribution and how easy it is to install/use and now I wanted to see it with my own eyes. The installation was like a breeze and everything was easy to set up (WLAN, audio, additional plugins like flash, java, Adobe reader etc.).

VPN
Since I work from home from time to time I need to access the internal network at work using a VPN connection (to a Ciscoserver). I found the tutorial at McMaster University for installing Cisco VPN client on linux very useful. See the tutorial yourself, however the steps are basically:

  1. wget http://www.mcmaster.ca//uts/network/software/vpnclient-linux-x86_64-4.8.02.0030-k9.tar.gz
  2. tar xzvf vpnclient-linux-x86_64-4.8.02.0030-k9.tar.gz
  3. cd vpnclient
  4. sudo ./vpn_install
  5. /etc/init.d/vpnclient_init start (loading vpn client module into kernel)
  6. Copy an existing VPN profile *.pcf to /etc/CiscoSystemsVPNClient/Profiles
  7. Fire up the vpnclient: vpnclient connect YOURPROFILE

Citrix Receiver
In order to connect to the Citrix MetaFrame XP I installed the Citrix Receiver from http://www.citrix.com/English/SS/downloads/details.asp?downloadID=3323. I downloaded the tar.gz file and followed the instructions . It seems as if the Citrix Receiver automatically adds itself to the firefox plugins.

Written by aandreasen

May 26, 2009 at 10:47 am

Posted in Computers, GNU/Linux, Ubuntu

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice simple steps.
    Btw, do you know whether 64-bit Citrix is available somewhere?

    Deeexx

    October 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm

  2. I don’t know. 32 bit version may work.

    aandreasen

    October 31, 2009 at 1:03 pm


Leave a Reply

